

# Call for Entries opens 1 November 2008

THOVEITIBET 2000

## Deadline

5 March 2009

## **Entry fee**

US \$50

The fee structure for nominations outside the U.S. will be set according to World Bank classifications based on per capita income designated as low, middle and high.

### **Submission guidelines**

Award entries must be submitted via the online submission system. Instructions are available at www.nursingsociety.org/awards

## **Judging**

Qualified judging panels representing strong talent and expertise are appointed.

### **Notification**

Award recipients will be notified by e-mail by 1 July 2009.

### **Presentation**

All awards will be presented at the honor society's 40<sup>th</sup> Biennial Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana, USA on 31 October – 4 November 2009.

### Contact us

550 West North Street Indianapolis, IN 46202

Tel: +1.317.634.8171, 888.634.7575

(U.S. or Canada toll-free)
Fax: +1.317.634.8188
Email: awards@stti.org
www.nursingsociety.org/awards

## **Honorary Membership**

### **PURPOSE**

The Honor Society of Nursing bestows honorary membership upon individuals of national or international influence who have furthered the course of health care. Honorary stature is conferred by the society's board of directors on those who demonstrate superior achievement in a chosen field and who demonstrate a special commitment to the ideals and concerns of nursing.

### **ELIGIBILITY**

Honorary membership in Sigma Theta Tau International is granted by the Sigma Theta Tau International board of directors on individuals throughout the world who are not eligible for regular membership but have demonstrated superior achievements that have contributed to the advancement of nursing and health care **at the national or international levels**. Any active Sigma Theta Tau International member may nominate a person for honorary membership.

#### **CRITERIA**

Nominees for honorary membership must have:

- Demonstrated a commitment to the ideals and purposes of the Honor Society of Nursing.
- Made a national or international impact with their work.
- Demonstrated superior achievement and leadership in their field of work.
- Made contributions of long-term significance to nursing and health care.

### **EVALUATING NOMINATIONS**

The nomination is evaluated for:

- Completeness. All criteria must be supported by evidence.
- Diversity. Documentation must come from a variety of sources (i.e., letters
  of support, awards of other achievement, published articles that highlight
  the nominee's work, etc.).
- Objectivity. The evidence must reflect a variety of perspectives and persons who know the nominee's work.
- Contributions to nursing and health care. The applicability of the nominee's contributions to nursing and health care must be evident in the materials.

### SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS

A complete nomination consists of:

- Online entry form and payment
- Supporting narrative that speaks to criteria (no page limitation)
- A cover letter prepared by the nominator summarizing the nominee's accomplishments
- · Nominee's curriculum vitae
- · Any other supporting documentation

#### **CONTACT INFORMATION**

For further information, please contact Teresa Ransdell at +1.317.634.8171, 888.634.7575 (U.S. or Canada toll-free) or e-mail: teresa@stti.org.



## Sigma Theta Tau International Honorary Members

1939

Dr. Dorothy Rood

1940

Adda Eldredge

1941

Nellie X. Hawkinson

<u> 1945</u>

H. Phoebe Gordon

1948

Dr. Ruth V. Johnston

1954

Pearl McIver

Ruth Sleeper

1959

Dr. Ruth Freeman

1963

■ Dr. Leo Simmons

Dr. Elizabeth Soule

1967

Dr. Lulu Hassenplug

1969

Jessie Scott

<u> 1975</u>

Dr. Pauline Gratz

<u> 1981</u>

Rosalie Abrams

Marilyn Goldwater

Dr. Ida V. Moffett

■ Dr. Donna Vredevoe

1983

Dr. Fred Davis

Barbara Jacobsen

Dr. Philip A. Kalisch

■ Dr. Gene E. Lynn

Dr.Jerome P. Lysaught

Dr. Geraldine V. Padilla

Mary L. Pekarski

Dr. Mary Ann Swain

Dr. Elizabeth Muse Tornquist

1985

■ W. Lee Conant, Jr.

Senator Daniel K. Inouye

Lucie Baines Johnson

Nellie Lee Powell

1987

Jose R. Coronado

Dr. Sandra G. Funk

Margaret E. Kuhn

Dr. Doris H. Merritt

Dr. Diane J. Skiba

1989

Nancy Evans

Dr. Lawrence H. Ganong

C. Wayne Hawkins

Dr. Doris A. Howell

Dr. Glenn W. Irwin, Jr.

Dr. Kathleen A. Knafl

Dr. John Phillip McGovern

■ Dr. Maryellen McSweeney

■ Dr. Mitchell T. Rabkin

Alan S. Trench

Dr. Kenneth A. Wallston

<u>1991</u>

Rosemary Berkel Crisp

Dr. Saul J. Farber

Margie Wolcott May

Dr. Leonard W. Poon

■ Dr. Marguerite Schaefer

Dr. Ursula Springer

1993

■ Dr. Jo Ann Crow

Dr. Alice J. Dan

John T. Dill

Dr. Patrick De Leon

Norma Matheson

Dr. Darlene Mood

Dr. Deborah H. Oakley

■ Dr. Steven V. Owen

Dr. Donna Shalala

Dr. David Wallace

Dr. T. Franklin Williams

Louise Woerner

1995

■ Dr. Roberta L. Bondar

Dr. Joy H. Carlson

Dr. Lynne A. Farr

Dr. Gary D. Hales

Dr. David HamburgPatti Kishline

Beatrice Renfield

Dr. Susan M. Reverby

Patricia Turner

<u> 1997</u>

■ Dr. Gerald L. Bepko

Dr. Leighton Cluff

Dan Ent

Florence Nightingale

J. Kevin Nugent

Dr. Virginia Olesen

Patricia K. ScheerleRobert Wolders

1999

Dr. William G. Bartholome

Monique Begin

 Beverly Friedson Bodker

Suzanne Gordon

Adele Corvell Hall

 Congresswoman Carolyn McCarthy

Dr. Diana Natalicio

Margaret Wright

2000

Dr.Yuri Leonidovich Shevchenko

2001

Alex Attewell

Erik Edward Joh, Esq.

Dr. Eugene Levine

James P. Smith

2003

Sandra Bertman

Marion J. Ball. EdD

Nancy Lewin

2005

Richard H. Carmona, M.D., MPH, FACS

■ Diane Carlson Evans, RN

Nancy Lorenzi, PhD

Barbara J. Safriet, JD, LLM

Louis Stokes, JD

R. Ernest Waaser

John L. WrightWilliam E. Wright

Mary Ann Tuft

Masato Tsukahara, MD, PhD

2007

■ David B. Cooper, RN

 Barry La Forgia, BS, MA, MBA, JD

■ David L. Olds, PhD

 David E. Olds, Find
 Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, FRCP, KBE

Paul E. Farmer, MD. PhD

Kathleen F. Norr, PhDRoy Simpson, RN